Administration

Jean-Michel Giraud -President/CEO

Administration
jgiraud@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2961

Since joining Friendship Place in 2006, Jean-Michel has drawn on his 25 years of clinical experience in human services, training in psychiatric rehabilitation, expertise in recovery and a commitment to person-centered programming. This tool kit had allowed him to pioneer innovative program models that have moved DC’s entire homeless services system forward. In 2009 he was named to the DC Interagency Council on Homelessness and the board of the Coalition of Housing and Homeless Organizations (2009-2013). In 2010 he received the Meyer Foundation Exponent Award for visionary nonprofit leadership.

Jean-Michel’s focus on cost-effective, permanent and rapid solutions to homelessness has been lauded by the DC government, the Department of Veterans Affairs and homeless service advocates. He also authors a blog on Huffington Post, you can connect with here.

Dan Fishkin -VP of Finance and Administration/Chief Financial Officer

Administration
dfishkin@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2965

Dan has worked in nonprofit program and financial management positions for more than 20 years at the national and local level. Dan began his nonprofit career at the American Red Cross national headquarters. He held various positions there, including Division Director for Health and Safety Services. He also was responsible for financial management and program management of a $7 million Cooperative Agreement with the Center for Disease Control for HIV/AIDS education. He worked as a Director of Finance and Administration for a national membership society and for a local community based organization before joining Friendship Place in January 2009.  Dan has a B.A. from Lynchburg College and a MBA from Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

Bella Vulchanova -Director of Finance and Administration

Administration
bvulchanova@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2966

Bella Vulchanova has earned a Master of Business Administration MBA, and Master of Science in Finance from the Robert H. Smith School of Business at the University of Maryland. She has been a finance professional for over 8 years with experience in financial planning and analysis, accounting, investment management, data systems integrations and performance optimization via a Fortune 500 setting as well as a within startup and government environments. She currently also serves as Treasurer and Board Member for the Lennox Place Home Owner’s Association.

In the past, she has worked with Deloitte and Booz Allen consultants in a Fortune 500 setting where she has directly applied the Value Based Management corporate strategy framework. She is seasoned in partnership and client development and passionate about change management as helping businesses thrive through use of strategic practices, business information systems, and performance optimization via informative decision making. She is also fluent in Spanish and Bulgarian.

Janice Essien -Director of Human Resources

Administration
jessien@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2960

Janice joined the Friendship Team in 2014. She has over 8 years of human resources experience in the areas of benefits management, compliance, employee relations and engagement, performance management, developing policies and procedures, and acquisition due diligence activities. Prior to joining the Friendship Place team, Janice held positions with a number of businesses in Maryland, the Washington, DC metro area, and Nigeria. In 2009 Janice spent almost 2 years as an expatriate staff in Nigeria for Olam International, a leading agricultural supply chain company based out of Singapore. While there, Janice gained significant experience managing expatriate benefits, union based employee relations, developing international policies and procedures and performance improvement and management. Janice earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Social Work from Morgan State University and her Masters of Science Degree in Human Resources Development from Towson University. She is certified as a Professional in Human Resources (PHR and SHRM-CP) and is an active member of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) and the Human Resource Association of the National Capital Area (HRA-NCA).

In addition to her role as Director of Human Resources, Janice serves as Friendship Place’s Compliance Officer and ADA Liaison.

Nana Berko-Addo - Payroll Coordinator & Human Resources Assistant

Administration
nberko@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2969

AimHire Employment Program

Mariam Nek -Director of AimHire

AimHire Employment Program
mnek@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0496

Jamal Jones -Employment Specialist

AimHire Employment Program
jjones@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0496

Kristin Lucero-Golden -Employment Specialist

AimHire Employment Program
klucero@friendshipplace.org
202.640.1270

Errick Lewis -Job & Housing Developer

AimHire Employment Program
elewis@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0496

Development Office

Christine Lauterbach -Director of Institutional Giving

Development Office
christine@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2962

Yimka Odebode -Assistant Director of Media, Marketing & Communications

Development Office
yodebode@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2964

Zachary Tobler -Assistant Director of Corporate Partnerships

Development Office
ztobler@friendshipplace.org
202.431.7567

Leah Craft -Major Gifts Officer

Development Office
lcraft@friendshipplace.org
202.684.3290

Michael McFadden -Office Manager

Development Office
mmcfadden@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2971

Alan Banks -Community Engagement Associate

Development Office
abanks@friendshipplace.org
202.503.2969

Home Now Division

Amber Smith -Home Now Division Director

Home Now Division
asmith@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

After receiving her BA in Psychology from the University of Illinois at Chicago, Amber moved back to the Washington, DC area, where she served as a case manager for foster care adolescents.  She worked in this capacity for four years, gaining invaluable experience in case management services, community and government agency engagement and program development, before joining Friendship Place in 2010.  Amber shares the organization’s mission and commitment to empowering individuals and ending homelessness, and strives for her work to be a reflection of that.

Erin Holland -Home Now Assistant Director

Home Now Division
eholland@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Linzi Jack -Project Coordinator

Home Now Division
ljack@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Amanda Koger -Project Coordinator

Home Now Division
akoger@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Donald Pitz -Project Coordinator

Home Now Division
dpitz@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Sal Corbin -Housing Specialist

Home Now Division
scorbin@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Gregory Dear -Job Development Specialist

Home Now Division
gdear@friendshipplace.org
202.807.9188

Amanda Taylor -Intake Specialist

Home Now Division
ataylor@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Duante Brown -Case Manager

Home Now Division
dbrown@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Monica Buchanan -Case Manager

Home Now Division
mbuchanan@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Terrence Davis -Case Manager

Home Now Division
tdavis@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Jennifer DelPonte -Case Manager

Home Now Division
jdelponte@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Jason Deramo -Case Manager

Home Now Division
jderamo@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Rachel Goodling -Case Manager

Home Now Division
rgoodling@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Jessie Knowles -Case Manager

Home Now Division
jknowles@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Gavin Morrison -Case Manager

Home Now Division
gmorrison@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Indigo Sage -Case Manager

Home Now Division
isage@friendshipplace.org
202.248.0388

Housing First

Keri Thomas -Housing First Division Director

Housing First
kthomas@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Keri came to Friendship Place from Pathways to Housing DC, where she worked as an ACT Team Leader for 1.5 years. Prior to coming to DC, She worked with the chronically homeless population in Venice, California where she provided ACT services and worked on numerous pilot, housing first projects in the Los Angeles area for eight years. Keri obtained her Masters in Social Work from UCLA in 2010. She initially became passionate in advocacy and social justice issues, particularly those faced by individuals who experience homelessness, while obtaining a Bachelors of Business Administration at Loyola University in MD. Keri completed one year as a Jesuit Volunteer at St. Joseph Center in Los Angeles, which inspired her to return to school to study social work. She is passionately involved in the nationwide effort to end homelessness and assist marginalized individuals who suffer from chronic health and mental health disabilities. Keri is a Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) in DC.

Guidy Paul -Neighbors First Assistant Director

Housing First
gpaul@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Catherine Stephens -Neighbors First Assistant Director

Housing First
cstephens@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Charlene Chigbue -Project Coordinator - Families

Housing First
cchigbue@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Lindsay Washington -Project Coordinator - Individuals

Housing First
lwashington@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

LaToya “L” Arnold -Case Manager

Housing First
larnold@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Cindy Bryant -Case Manager

Housing First
cbryant@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Arielle Butler -Case Manager

Housing First
abutler@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Chris Cartledge -Case Manager

Housing First
ccartledge@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Carmen Dozier -Case Manager

Housing First
cdozier@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Tanichia Foster -Case Manager

Housing First
tfoster@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Chaquita Goode -Case Manager

Housing First
cgoode@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Eden Ghebretinsae -Case Manager

Housing First
eden@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Katelyn Hanson -Case Manager

Housing First
khanson@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Samilia Kamara -Case Manager

Housing First
skamara@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Sierra Larson -Case Manager

Housing First
slarson@friendshipplace.org
202.658.8345

Allyssa Mann -Case Manager

Housing First
amann@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Arnulfo Marquez -Case Manager

Housing First
amarquez@friendshpplace.org
202.248.3594

Joy May -Case Manager

Housing First
jmay@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Sarah Morgan -Case Manager

Housing First
smorgan@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Kim Morton -Case Manager

Housing First
kmorton@friendshipplace.org
202.248.6409

Charity Pierce -Case Manager

Housing First
cpierce@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Pamela Reeves -Case Manager

Housing First
preeves@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Nadia Salazar Sandi -Case Manager

Housing First
nsandi@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Hawa-Rose Sannoh -Case Manager

Housing First
hsannoh@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Saheli Sarkar -Case Manager

Housing First
ssarkar@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

Trevor Yee -Case Manager

Housing First
tyee@friendshipplace.org
202.248.3594

La Casa Division

Brooke Lyle -Director

La Casa Division
blyle@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0237

Brooke came to Friendship Place from the Psychiatric Institute of Washington where she worked for 2.5 years after obtaining her masters in Social Work from Howard University. While receiving her Masters she interned with Washington Hospital Centers Medical House Call program for a year. Brooke also worked with the elderly at an Assisted Living community Chevy Chase House and for the adoption agency Cradle Of Hope after graduating from Marymount University with a Bachelors in Sociology and a minor in Criminal Justice. Brooke discovered her passion for helping others after backpacking through Hawaii and volunteering at a project home teaching children and families to read and write for a year prior to attending college.

Joyce Washington -Assistant Director

La Casa Division
jwashington@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0237

Christina Cruz -Project Coordinator

La Casa Division
ccruz@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0237

Eric Fluker -Case Manager

La Casa Division
efluker@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Juan Montero -Case Manager

La Casa Division
jmontero@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Norca Calderin -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
ncalderin@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Kwame Carter -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
kcarter@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Carl Douglas -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
cdouglas@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Shawnell Gladden -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
sgladden@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Marc Joy -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
mjoy@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Donnell King -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
dking@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Dana Long-Meadows -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
dlong@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Nikki Powers -Residential Advocate

La Casa Division
npowers@friendshipplace.org
202.986.0281

Veteran Services Division

Kally Canfield -Veteran Services Division Director

Veteran Services Division
kcanfield@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Kally Canfield was born and raised in rural Pennsylvania. She received her BA in Sociology with a minor in Social Work from Clarion University of Pennsylvania in 2008. Kally has been working in social services since age 16.

Shortly after graduating from Clarion University, Kally spontaneously decided to move to Washington DC. She worked with a residential program that helped integrate people dealing with severe mental illness into the community. She joined the Friendship place team as a case manager in March 2010 and in November of 2011, she had the opportunity to develop the veterans first program. This program has since grown to be a multimillion dollar program. Kally is now the division director of veteran services, overseeing the veterans first and families first programs

Emily Carpenter -Veteran Services Division Assistant Director

Veteran Services Division
ecarpenter@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Ben Noll -Veteran Services Division Assistant Director

Veteran Services Division
bnoll@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Rachelle de Leon -Self-Sufficiency Coordinator

Veteran Services Division
rdeleon@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Brendan Haley -Project Coordinator

Veteran Services Division
bhaley@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Tyler Harmon -Veterans First Project Coordinator

Veteran Services Division
tharmon@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Jonathan Whitted -Veterans First Project Coordinator

Veteran Services Division
jwhitted@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Sam Strike -Benefits and Legal Specialist

Veteran Services Division
sstrike@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Henry McAllister -Employment Specialist

Veteran Services Division
hmcallister@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Melissa Robinson -Housing Specialist

Veteran Services Division
mrobinson@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Chris Pitocchelli -Intake Specialist

Veteran Services Division
cpitocchelli@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Sarah LaRue -Employment Specialist

Veteran Services Division
slarue@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

William Harris -Street Outreach Specialist

Veteran Services Division
wharris@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Phylicia Wooten -Street Outreach Specialist

Veteran Services Division
pwooten@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Paloma Arroyo- Lefebre -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
parroyo@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Colleen Graydon -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
cgraydon@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Shawn Hogue -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
shogue@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Fatima Isaac -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
fisaac@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Nicol Jackson -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
njackson@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Ronald Mann -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
rmann@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Matt Marcinek -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
mmarcinek@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Marc McCue -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
mmccue@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Neka Ramsey -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
nramsey@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Sara Simone -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
ssimone@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Nisha Vashisht -Case Manager

Veteran Services Division
nvashisht@friendshipplace.org
202.248.2801

Welcome Center Services Division

Sean Read -Welcome Center Director

Welcome Center Services Division
sread@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Sean Read currently serves as the Director of the Welcome Center. He first began with Friendship Place in March 2011 as a Case Manager with Neighbors First. Prior to residing in the DC Metro Region, Sean served as a Behavioral Support Specialist for children and adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders in Buffalo, NY.

Sean currently holds a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Houghton College (NY) and a Masters of Science in Human Development from Virginia Tech.

Maisha Pinkard -Welcome Center Assistant Director

Welcome Center Services Division
mpinkard@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Thomas Carrington -Homeless Services and Outreach Specialist

Welcome Center Services Division
tcarrington@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Eric Schneider -Homeless Services and Outreach Specialist

Welcome Center Services Division
eschneider@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Molly Vetter -Homeless Services and Outreach Specialist

Welcome Center Services Division
mvetter@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Stephanie Freelon -Youth Street Outreach Specialist

Welcome Center Services Division
sfreelon@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Tony Smith -Youth Street Outreach Specialist

Welcome Center Services Division
tsmith@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Stefani Schaper -Before Thirty and Shelter Case Manager

Welcome Center Services Division
sschaper@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Shannon Young -Housing Case Manager

Welcome Center Services Division
syoung@friendshipplace.org
202.364.1419

Connect with us    202.364.1419    info@friendshipplace.org
phone: 202.364.1419
mail: info@friendshipplace.org

Welcome Center
4713 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington DC 20016

Welcome Center Hours
Mondays: 8:30am - 11:30am and 1pm - 4pm
Tuesdays: By appointment only
Wednesdays | Thursdays: 8:30am - 11:30am and 1pm - 3pm
Fridays: Closed

© 2017 Friendship Place. All Rights Reserved.